CLSP Web SiteWS 98 Site Map
CLSP
logo
WS 98 Research Projects
An NSF Workshop: Language Engineering for Students
and Professionals Integrating Research and Education 
 
 
Two Toward Language-Independent Acoustic Modeling
Team Goals
Project Description
Team Members
Willian Byrne
Team Leader
CLSP/JHU byrne@jhu.edu
Peter Beyerlein PRL beyerlei@pfa.research.philips.com
Juan Manuel Huerta CMU juan@speech1.cs.cmu.edu
Sanjeev Khudanpur CLSP/JHU sanjeev@mail.clsp.jhu.edu
John Morgan West Point john@diego.dfl.usma.edu
Nino Peterek Charles Univ., CR peterek@ufal.ms.mff.cuni.cz
Joe Picone MsState picone@isip.msstate.edu
Bhaskara Marthi UToronto bhaskara@math.toronto.edu
Wei Wang Rice wwang@rice.edu
 
Technical Papers & Resources
Opening Day Presentation
Overview, Bill Byrne
Dictionaries and Phone Mappings, Joe Picone
 
Workshop Presentations
Overview, Bill Byrne (July 28)
Data, Examples, and Some Initial Results, Joe Picone (July 28)
Cross language phone mappings [ps], Juan Huerta (July 28)
Discriminative Model Combination - Basics and Application to Language Independent ASR, Peter Beyerlein (August 11)
 
Final Presentation, August 18
Overview, Bill Byrne
Knowledge Based Phone Mappings, Joe Picone
Data-Driven Phone Mappings [ps], Juan Huerta
Adaptation and Retraining, Sanjeev Khudanpur
Discrminative Model Combination, Peter Beyerlein
Language Adaptive Clustering, Bhaskara Marthi
Experiments with Phone Confusions and ROVER, Wei Wang
 
Final Report (PDF)
 
Team Publications
"Towards Language Independent Acoustic Modeling" [ps]
IEEE Workshop on Automatic Speech Recognition and Understanding, Colorado, December 1999
"Towards Language Independent Acoustic Modeling"
ICASSP 2000, Istanbul, Turkey
 
Multilingual Speech Processing References
 

The Center for Language and Speech Processing

Johns Hopkins University

3400 N. Charles Street, Barton Hall, Baltimore, MD 21218 
Telephone: 410 516 4237 Fax: 410 516 5050 E-mail: clsp@jhu.edu
CLSP Web SiteWS 98 Site Map