CLSP
Web
Site WS 98
Site Map
CLSP
logo
WS 98
Projects & Participants
An NSF Workshop: Language Engineering for Students
and Professionals Integrating Research and Education
Workshop Chair: Frederick Jelinek CLSP/JHU
Statistical Machine Translation
Kevin Knight
Team Leader
USC/ISI knight@isi.edu
Yaser Al-Onaizan USC/ISI yaser@isi.edu
David Purdy DoD dpurdy@clsp.jhu.edu
Jan Curin Charles Univ., CR curin@ufal.ms.mff.cuni.cz
Michael Jahr Stanford mjahr@stanford.edu
John Lafferty CMU lafferty@cmu.edu
Dan Melamed West Group  
Noah Smith UMD nasmith@cs.umd.edu
Franz Josef Och RWTH Aachen och@i6.informatik.rwth-aachen.de
David Yarowsky CLSP/JHU yarowsky@blaze.cs.jhu.edu
Towards Language-Independent Acoustic Modeling
Willian Byrne
Team Leader
CLSP/JHU byrne@jhu.edu
Peter Beyerlein PRL beyerlei@pfa.research.philips.com
Juan Manuel Huerta CMU juan@speech1.cs.cmu.edu
Sanjeev Khudanpur CLSP/JHU sanjeev@mail.clsp.jhu.edu
John Morgan West Point john@diego.dfl.usma.edu
Nino Peterek Charles Univ., CR peterek@ufal.ms.mff.cuni.cz
Joe Picone MsState picone@isip.msstate.edu
Bhaskara Marthi UToronto bhaskara@math.toronto.edu
Wei Wang Rice wwang@rice.edu
Topic-Based Novelty Detection
James Allan
Team Leader
UMass allan@cs.umass.edu
David Caputo Yale david.caputo@yale.edu
Daniel Gildea ICSI
Rose Hoberman UTexas roseh@cs.utexas.edu
Hubert Jin BBN hjin@bbn.com
Victor Lavrenko UMass lavrenko@cs.umass.edu
Martin Rajman EDFL martin.rajman@epfl.ch
Charles Wayne DoD clwayne@clsp.jhu.edu
Normalization of Non-Standard Words
Richard Sproat
Team Leader
AT&T Labs rws@research.att.com
Alan Black Univ. of Edinburgh, CSTR awb@cstr.ed.ac.uk
Stanley Chen CMU sfc@cs.cmu.edu
Shankar Kumar CLSP/JHU skumar@mail.clsp.jhu.edu
Mari Ostendorf Boston University mo@raven.bu.edu
Christopher Richards Williams 00cdr@cs.williams.edu

The Center for Language and Speech Processing

Johns Hopkins University

3400 N. Charles Street, Barton Hall, Baltimore, MD 21218
Telephone: 410 516 4237 Fax: 410 516 5050 E-mail: clsp@jhu.edu
CLSP
Web Site WS 98
Site Map